The new Ardoyne Retreat
The “New Retreat of Holy Cross” which was opened in 1881, with its false dormer rooms in which one of the passionists came close to loosing his life to the B Specials in 1921.
When the old church was demolished in 1902 the debris was buried beneath the mound in the centre of the roundabout in the church grounds. All, that is, except the two curbs which formed the threshold of the old church. These two blocks lay nestled on the left of the main entrance for over 100 years until they were removed, at the request of a local resident, for safe keeping, while the new lawns were being laid out.